The very first post I will be blogging about is myself.

As you can see from the title of my website, I’m Jack from Malaysia and currently completing my studies majoring in accounting and finance in Monash University Australia. Many asked why does an accounting and finance student would grow such an interest and blog about the trend and changes in the digital marketing industry.

The main reason I chose to blog about these topics would mainly be that the introduction of technology especially digital marketing and accounting software have greatly changed the nature of accountants and bankers. For example, bankers traditionally obtain customers through cold calls or word of mouth. However, with the introduction of social media such as Facebook and Twitter, bankers are able to gain a more solid and wide spread of customers. The best of all, all these advertising are usually free or low cost and require less resources compared with the traditional way of cold calling customers. In other words, digital marketing has improved the efficiency and effectiveness of banking industry itself and the same could be applied to other industries especially retail industry.

The other reason I’ve decided to focus in digital marketing is that I am planning to start my own business after completing my university studies and I am still searching for all the path of building brand presence and actually selling products. However, digital marketing such as setting up online stores seem to be one of the very popular path nowadays but the big question would be, how can new business able to differentiate themselves with so many competitors although everyone is competing on a global basis. Let me know what are your thoughts in the comments below!